4.Participants(April 29-30, 2002)

(Alphabetical order of surname)

David L. Asher senior adviser in the Bureau of East Asian and Pacific Affairs at the U.S. Department of State
Claude E. Barfield resident scholar and the director of trade and science policy studies and technology policy studies at AEI
Karlyn H. Bowman resident fellow at the AEI and the "gOpinion Pulse" h editor for The American Enterprise, the Institute's flagship magazine.
Charles W. Calomiris Arthur F. Burns Scholar in Economics at AEI and Paul M. Montrone Professor of Finance and Economics at the Columbia University School of Business.
Robert H. Dugger Managing director of the Tudor Investment Corporation
Nicholas N. Eberstadt Henry Wendt Scholar in Political Economy at AEI and a member of Harvard University's Center for Population and Development Studies
James K. Glassman resident fellow at AEI and the host of TechCentralStation.com
G. William Hoagland Staff director of the U.S. Senate Committee on the Budget
R. Glenn Hubbard Chairman of the U.S. President's Council of Economic Advisers
Kazumasa Iwata Director-general in charge of economic assessment and policy analysis for the Japanese Cabinet Office and concurrently a professor at the Department of Advanced Social and International Studies at the University of Tokyo
Yasuhiro Kawaguchi Economic counselor at the Embassy of Japan in Washington, D.C.
Akira Kojima Managing director and chief editorial page editor of the Nihon Keizai Shimbun.
Makoto Kuroda President of the World Economic Information Service and of the Center for Information on Security Trade Control
James R. Lilley Senior fellow at AEI and a senior adviser of the Institute for Global Chinese Affairs at the University of Maryland, College Park
Nobutaka Machimura Representative of the Japanese Diet and the acting secretary-general of the ruling Liberal Democratic Party of Japan (LDP)
John H. Makin Resident scholar and director of fiscal policy studies at AEI.
Allan H. Meltzer University Professor of Political Economy at Carnegie Mellon University and a visiting scholar at AEI
Naoko Munakata Senior fellow at the Research Institute of Economy, Trade, and Industry (RIETI) and a visiting scholar at the Brookings Institution in Washington, D.C.
Katsuhiro Nakagawa Managing director of the Toyota Motor Co.
Tadashi Nakamae President of Nakamae International Economic Research
Adam Posen Senior fellow at the Institute for International Economics
Yoshihiro Sakai Fellow at AEI
Nicholas Sargen Managing director of J.P. Morgan and the chief investment strategist for private clients
Gary Saxonhouse Professor of economics at the University of Michigan and the director of its Committee on Comparative and Historical Research on Market Economies
Joseph R. Schmuckler Chief operating officer, as well as a member of the Board of Directors and Management Committee, of Nomura Holding America
Mikio Wakatsuki Chairman of the Board of Counselors at the Japan Research Institute
Peter J. Wallison Resident fellow and as the codirector of its program on financial market deregulation
Taizo Yakushiji Executive research director of the Institute for International Policy Studies and a member of the law faculty of Keio University
Jai-Hoon Yang